Crockpot Cheapskate Philly Cheesesteak

Not much to look at, but yummy!

While surfing the net, I found a recipe called Crock-Pot Cheeseburger Bake . I was immediately intrigued for two reasons: It did not include chicken (I love chicken, but we eat a lot of it) and it sounded like something I could make.  That being said, I did make a few changes to make it even easier (because I like things as easy as possible.) In addition, this didn’t come out tasting much like a cheeseburger, but it did make for a tasty cheesesteak rip-off.

The original recipe called for an onion and green pepper. I used the Birdseye Recipe Makers frozen sliced peppers and onions instead (about 1/3 of the bag.) I also opted not to make the biscuits in the crockpot and instead served the mixture over biscuits instead.

Recipe:

  • 1 pound of ground beef or turkey
  • onion (however much you prefer)
  • green pepper (however much you prefer)
  • 1 can of condensed cheddar soup
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • Grands buttermilk biscuits (I used the 8 count)

Directions:

  1. Brown ground beef in a skillet with the peppers and onions. (Drain fat.)
  2. Place ground beef mixture into the crock pot
  3. In a bowl, mix together cheddar soup and milk.
  4. Pour over meat mixture in the crock pot and stir until everything is mixed well.
  5. Cook on low for three to four hours.
  6. Make biscuits according to package.
  7. Serve the crock pot mix on top of the biscuits.
 

 Verdict: Win

This meal was super easy to make and quite tasty and the scare factor was low. I would make it again. I would say if you are feeding more than two or three people you would probably want to double it.

Leave a Reply

