Baked French Toast Swirl

This recipe was sent to me by my mom. She’s a breakfast lover (as in she could eat it for every meal) and she wanted me to make it for her. Once you get over the fact that you have to deal with raw eggs (one of my cooking fears) this recipe is pretty easy. It comes courtesy of Campbell’s Kitchen.

I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter. I didn’t measure the raisins, but I definitely didn’t use the suggested 3/4 cup. Since there are raisins in the Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon-Raisin Swirl bread, I’m not sure you need a whole ton of extra raisins. The only thing I didn’t add was the cinnamon sugar, because I didn’t have any (I would definitely add it if I made this again.)

Verdict: Undecided

My mom loved it so much she ate it as leftovers. I’m on the fence. I think less raisins would’ve worked better for me or perhaps using a different variety of the Swirl bread. I might try it again eventually. It’s not overly sweet, so if you have a sweet tooth (like me!) you will definitely want the cinnamon sugar and you can’t go wrong with syrup.

Leave a Reply

