Snowed In and Making Brownies

Today we are dealing with freezing cold and tons of snow, so it seemed like the perfect day for baking. I had a ton of cake mixes I got for super cheap over the holidays. As well as some other leftover holiday bits and pieces so I scoured the internet to see what I could make with them (other than yet another cake.) Naturally, I headed to Pinterest to see what goodies I could find. I found tons of recipes for cake mix brownies, but the one I decided to try looked so easy that I couldn’t possibly mess it up. This awesome recipe is on the blog Cookies and Cups.

Now, on the blog she used baking melts in her brownies (which sounds awesome) but I didn’t have any, so I used Nestle Morsels – the holiday ones, so you may see some red and green- and that worked quite well. I followed the recipe exactly. Once I mixed it all up (and it was tough to mix!) I got this:

Right before it went in the oven

So I popped it in the oven for about 25 minutes and what I ended up with were some of the tastiest brownies ever.

They were such a success that I decided to try again, but I adapted the recipe a bit in the next batch and came up with Peppermint Cake Brownies.

Here is what I did:

Recipe:

  • 1 box cake mix (I used red velvet.)
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup International Delight Peppermint Mocha creamer
  • 1 egg
  • Half a bag of Andes Peppermint Crunch Baking Chips

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, mix together the cake mix, oil, creamer, egg and baking chips (however many you want, but save some to throw on the top.)
  2. Spread into an 8×8 pan (the dough is crazy thick, but that’s okay.)
  3. Sprinkle some more peppermint pieces on top and push them down a bit into the dough.
  4. Bake on 400 for 25 minutes. (I have an old oven, your cooking time and temp may vary so keep an eye on it.)
  5. Once an inserted toothpick comes out clean, take it out and let it cool completely before removing from the pan.

These came out gooey and delicious and had a wonderful peppermint flavor. I was really excited with how they came out since the creamer thing was a bit of an experiment for me. I figured the chance of complete failure was about 50%, so I’m glad it ended up working out.

Verdict: Win

Both the original recipe and the adapted peppermint experiment came out great! I will definitely be making these again and I like the many different options I could experiment with as far as adding creamers to the brownies.

Leave a Reply

