Oven Tacos {Freezer Meal}

I came across this recipe while browsing Pinterest and thought it might be a fun twist on tacos (plus I had recently nabbed 20 cent taco shells thanks to coupons) so I decided to give this recipe a try. There are many recipes for oven tacos and they are all a bit different, but the one I went with is from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures.

I didn’t make many changes to the recipe, but I did decide to make it into two separate freezer meals instead of one big meal because there is no way we could eat twenty tacos. And freezing it was a great option because then it’s super easy to assemble later.

Source: Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures

Ingredients: Day of Freezing

  • 2lbs of ground beef
  • 8oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • Ziploc freezer bags (or whatever brand you prefer. I stick with name brand bags for freezer cooking because you want a good quality bag.)

Directions:

  1. Brown the ground beef in a skillet (Drain the fat.)
  2. Add beans, sauce and seasoning and mix everything together.
  3. Let it simmer for two or three minutes.
  4. Let the mixture cool a bit.
  5. Then scoop half the mixture into each of the two freezer bags.
  6. Freeze flat.

Ingredients: Day of Cooking

  • Thawed taco filling (I thawed mine in the fridge for 24 hours.)
  • 12 taco shells
  • Mexican blend shredded cheese (I used half of an 8oz bag)
  • Taco fixings – lettuce, salsa, sour cream etc.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400
  2. Arrange your taco shells standing up in a baking dish or pan. (I managed to fit 12 into a disposable lasagna pan.)
  3. Spoon the meat mixture evenly into the taco shells.
  4. Top generously with cheese.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes or until the meat mixture is heated through and serve.

Verdict: Win

These were awesome! Even more awesome because I know I’ll get to eat it again soon since I still have some in the freezer. I loved how the filling came out. It’s a bit milder than when you do 1lb with 1 package of taco seasoning and I liked it that way, but will buy some hot sauce for the family members that like a bit more kick. This made enough for four people (I served it with rice and corn.) The best thing about it is that the shell holds together so much better when you make them like this. A definite winner!

3 thoughts on “Oven Tacos {Freezer Meal}

Leave a Reply

