Pizza Pasta {Freezer Meal}

I’m always looking for something a bit different to try for dinner (nothing too different because then nobody here would eat it!) When I came across this recipe I decided it was worth a try. I will admit that I was skeptical on whether or not this would be yummy. Pepperoni and pasta??? But I knew it would be economical and I could make it and freeze it so I soldiered on.

I adapted this recipe somewhat from it’s original form. For one thing, I made it two meals instead of one. You can find the original recipe at Kathie Cooks.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb of pasta (I used rotelle) cooked and drained
  • 15oz of ricotta cheese
  • 8oz shredded mozzarella
  • pepperoni (however much you want or pick a different topping. I have a 7oz package but I didn’t use all of it.)
  • Birdseye Recipe Ready peppers and onions (once again you can use whatever toppings you want. I used these because I have a bunch I snagged for free thanks to coupons.)
  • 24oz jar of pasta sauce (not pictured.)

Directions:

1. Mix the cooked pasta with the ricotta cheese.

2. Spread it equally into two pans. (I use the disposable lasagna pans. You get two for a buck at the dollar store.)

3. Spread half the jar of pasta sauce in each pan.

4. Add your toppings evenly to each pan.

5. Top each one with half of the cheese.

6. Cover both pans with foil. Label them with the instructions Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Throw them in the freezer and you have two dinners ready to go!

To Cook:

  1. Thaw it 24 hours in the fridge.
  2. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Verdict: Win

This was surprisingly good! Despite my skepticism this came out awesome. Everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make it again since you get two meals for extremely cheap. Plus you can mix up the toppings for a different experience each time.  Also, it’s one of the easier freezer meals I’ve tried so it gets bonus points for that as well.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Pasta {Freezer Meal}

Leave a Reply

