Chicken Stuffing Casserole {Freezer Meal}

In my endless pursuit of easy freezer meals, I came across this dinner.  It was appealing because of it’s level of easiness and the fact that it has stuffing which we don’t eat very often.

This recipe makes two meals. We had one tonight and I froze the other one for a meal down the road.  I adapted this recipe from this one I found on Taste of Home’s site.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of cooked chicken (shredded or cubed)
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 2 boxes of stuffing mix (I used the Stovetop Cornbread variety.)
  • 2 cups of frozen corn
  • 2 cups of shredded cheddar

Directions:

1. Cook the boxed stuffing according to the package.

2.  Spread half of the stuffing into two greased pans.

3. Add 2 cups of the cooked chicken to each one. (I shredded half and cubed half since I couldn’t decide.)

4. Add half of the corn to both.

5. In a bowl mix soup and milk together, then pour evenly over each pan.

6. Add one cup of cheddar to each pan (I had already put away one pan when I took the picture so only one is shown.)

7. Cover them in aluminum foil, label and freeze.

To Cook:

  1. Remove from fridge 30 minutes before baking. (Do not thaw completely.)
  2. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Bake for 1 and a half hours covered.
  4. Remove foil and bake for 10 to 15 minutes or until heated through.

Side Note: If you are cooking one of them the day you make it, still bake at 350 covered, but only for 30 minutes or so.

Verdict: Eh.

This came out just fine and I won’t mind having it again (which is good since I still have a casserole in the freezer) but it wasn’t anything particularly fabulous. I probably won’t make it again.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

