Crockpot Hamburger Steaks

When I buy the big pack of hamburgers at the store, I always split them up so we get two meals instead of just one. Stretching meat is awesome, but eating burgers twice in close proximity is a bit less awesome. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good hamburger with all the fixings, I just don’t want them all the time.

So, I hit Pinterest to see if I could ditch the bun. My one requirement was that it had to be easy (this meant that anything that required me to break the hamburger patties up and use them as regular ground beef were a no go. The less time I have to spend with raw meat the happier I am!)

This recipe from Makin’ it MoBetta seemed like a super easy option.  You put the patties in the crockpot FROZEN(!!!) add a few ingredients and poof: dinner!

Ingredients:

  • Hamburger patties (I used 5)
  • 1-14oz can of beef broth
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup

Directions:

  1. Throw everything in the crockpot and cook for 3 hours on high and then 3 hours on low. (The original recipe said 6 hours on high, but I check mine midday and they were pretty much done. Depending on your crockpot and the size of the patties, your mileage may vary.)

That’s it. One step. I served mine with mashed potatoes and green beans.

Verdict: Win

These came out really tasty. The meat was tender and they didn’t come out tasting like soupy burgers (a legitimate concern I had.) I would make these again if I had extra hamburger patties and wasn’t sure what to fix.

 

 

Leave a Reply

