Mexican Chicken Alfredo {Freezer Meal}

I found this recipe on the Taste of Home site and adapted it a bit to make it even easier. One of the things that drew me to it was the interesting combination of flavors. It had never occurred to me to mix Alfredo sauce with salsa and taco seasoning, but when I thought about it, I could see how it might work. This recipe also has the added bonus of making two different meals (one to eat and one to freeze) and more bang for my buck is always appreciated!

Adapted from Taste of Home.

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and cubed
  • 1 16oz package of pasta, cooked and drained (I used the trio pasta, but I think any type will work.)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1 cup of salsa
  • 2 teaspoons of taco seasoning
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 2 jars of Alfredo sauce (I used one jar of classic Alfredo sauce and one jar of the Artisan Three Cheese by Prego.)
  • 1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup of Mexican blend shredded cheese, divided (Optional)

Directions:

  1. In a bowl combine seasonings, milk, alfredo sauce, salsa and parmesan cheese. Mix well, then stir in chicken.
  2. Combine the mixture with the noodles and stir well. (Make sure all the noodles are covered.)
  3. Dump into 2 greased 8×8 pans. (I used lasagna pans and it worked out fine.)
  4. Sprinkle 1/2 cup of Mexican blend cheese on top of each pan.
  5. Cover one pan in foil, label it and place it in the freezer.
  6. Stick the other in the oven at 350 for 30-40 minutes or until heated through.

To cook the frozen one, I recommend thawing it in the fridge for 24 hours and then cooking as directed in step 6.

This is what it will look like before you bake. I added the Mexi-blend cheese on top.

Now, I will admit, I was a bad little blogger and forgot to take pictures of the finished product until I was already packing up leftovers to take to a neighbor (in my defense, it smelled really good and I was hungry) so please excuse the tragic excuse for a picture.

Verdict: Win

This was crazy good. The flavors went well together and it was flavorful without being too spicy. The alfredo sauce made it nice and creamy. This was a big hit with the family and I will definitely be adding it to my regular meal rotation.

4 thoughts on “Mexican Chicken Alfredo {Freezer Meal}

Leave a Reply

