Freezer Cooking Day!

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, I dedicated a portion of my Sunday to freezer cooking. I’m sure you’ve seen those pins on Pinterest that say they made 30 meals in one day, but I’ll be honest, I can’t muster the energy to attempt all that. I use freezer cooking to supplement other stuff I make throughout the week. I feel like having a few extra meals in the freezer is always a good thing, but I’m not ready to commit to 30 days of it yet.

Here is what I made:

Enough Oven Taco filling for two meals.

2 Pizza Pasta Bakes. This is one of the easiest freezer meals to put together and it’s yummy.

6 Breakfast Bowls (instructions below.)

And I prepped last night’s dinner, Mexican Hashbrown Casserole, at the same time as well.

 

I started with the breakfast bowls. Here is what I used:

  • 1 bag of diced frozen hashbrowns
  • A dozen eggs
  • 1 bag of Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles (the pre-cooked kind in the refrigerated section of the grocery store.)
  • 8oz bag of shredded cheddar

Now, to start I put the diced hashbrowns in the oven on 425. The directions on the bag say to fry them in a skillet, but I think they reheat better if they are cooked in the oven. While those are cooking scramble the eggs.

Then I layer everything into the bowls as follows:

1. Potatoes

2. Eggs

3. Sausage crumbles

4. Cheese

As you can see I use plastic freezer containers for these (but I also put them in freezer bags because I’m profoundly scared of freezer burn.)

When you are ready to eat just take one out of the freezer and throw it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. These are a big hit around here.

Once I finished these, I started boiling water for the noodles. While waiting for that to boil, I prepared the taco filling. Once the filling was ready it was about time to drain the noodles and assemble the pizza pasta (this gave the taco filling a chance to cool down some.) The pizza pasta only takes about five minutes to assemble, once I finished with those, I bagged up the taco filling and stuck everything in the freezer. Then I started dinner. It took me a few hours and it was totally worth it. I ended up with five meals (including Sunday’s dinner) and 6 breakfast bowls. Not bad for a Sunday afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

