Root Beer Float Pie

I LOVE root beer floats. There is something so perfect about them, so naturally making root beer float into a pie was something I had to try.

Now, I know this is probably more of a summer recipe, but I personally love root beer floats year round. Go with me on this.

Source: HolidaysPage

Ingredients:

  • 1 container of Cool Whip, thawed
  • 1 graham cracker crust, 9 inch (you can make your own, but I just bought a ready made one)
  • 1 box of instant vanilla pudding (3.4oz)
  • 3/4 cup of root beer (A&W is my favorite)
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • Maraschino cherries (if you want them – we aren’t fans of cherries)

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, whisk together pudding, root beer and milk for 2 minutes.
  2. Fold in 1 and 1/4 cups of the Cool Whip.
  3. Spread the mixture into the graham cracker crust.
  4. Top with the rest of the Cool Whip (I didn’t use all of it, but if you like lots of whipped toppy, go for it!)
  5. Refrigerate overnight or 8 hours (Super important because otherwise it ends up soupy)
  6. Add cherries if you’d like.

Verdict: Win

I’ve made this pie a few times and it’s a big hit around here. The first time I made it I used all of the whipped topping, but the fam preferred it with a bit less because the root beer layer is so good that you don’t want the whipped topping to overpower it. Your mileage may vary. I look forward to making this again and experimenting with other flavors of soda.

Leave a Reply

