Cheesy Chicken and Rice Bake

I chose this recipe for two reasons. First, it’s topped with Ritz crackers and I have some I needed to use up. Secondly, you don’t have to cook the rice first (woohoo!)

After a few less than stellar dinner moments (and one epic failure) this week, I was understandably nervous about this dish.

Source: South of Your Mouth (I love this blog. She posts so many down-home recipes and many of them are easy enough that even I can manage it.)

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts (I used the thin sliced by Tyson so I could skip cutting them up.)
  • 2 cans of cheddar soup
  • 1 cup of long-grain rice, uncooked
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of broccoli florets (the original recipe calls for more, but I’m not crazy about broccoli so I went light on it.)
  • 2 sleeves of Ritz crackers, crushed
  • 6 tblsp of butter, melted
  • 1/8 tsp of garlic powder

Recipe:

  1. In a bowl, whisk together soup, milk and salt.
  2. Fold in the rice.
  3. Pour 2/3 of the mixture into a greased 9×13 pan.
  4. Place chicken on top and then pour the rest of the soup mixture on top.
  5. Add broccoli, cover with aluminum foil and bake at 400 for 1 hour.
  6. Combine crackers, butter, and garlic powder.
  7. Take the pan out of the oven, remove the aluminum foil and sprinkle the cracker crumb mixture on top evenly.
  8. Place back in the oven for 20 minutes or until the crackers are brown.

Verdict: Win!

This dinner was definitely a success. It comes together really easy and everyone enjoyed it (even the rice hater in the family.) I really loved the crackers on top, but I think it would be good without them as well. I will definitely be making it again.

Leave a Reply

