Crockpot Chicken and Noodles

After a week of old favorites I was finally able to try a new recipe today. This one was chose because it utilized items I already had in the pantry AND it’s super easy (because I try to keep it as simple as possible, especially on Monday.)

This recipe is from my new favorite cookbook: Super-Fast Slow Cooking by Gooseberry Patch.

Ingredients:

  • 3 or 4 small boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • Can of chicken broth (14.5oz)
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • 16oz package of egg noodles, cooked

Directions:

  1. Put chicken in the slow cooker with chicken broth and cream of chicken soup. Cook on low 6 to 8 hours.
  2. About thirty minutes before you are ready to serve,  shred up the chicken, add the cooked egg noodles and mix well.

Verdict: Win

While not the most exciting of recipes, this down home dish was a win with the family, even the pickiest eater. I think if I made this again, I might try throwing the noodles in the crockpot uncooked. There was a lot of liquid in there and I’ve done it before with beef and noodles, so I think it might work and would save me the step of having to boil the noodles.

One thought on “Crockpot Chicken and Noodles

Leave a Reply

