Easy Meatball Lasagna

It didn’t really come out looking like lasagna, but it was pretty yummy!

So, this was my first attempt at making a lasagna (which is the reason my noodle to everything else ratio was less than perfect) but I found a recipe I really wanted to try. Unfortunately for me the original recipe was really complicated for someone that has cooking anxiety and limited skills in the kitchen. SO, I simplified it.

Adapted from a recipe at A Nut in a Nutshell

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of frozen meatballs, thawed. (The package I bought had 26 and that was plenty.)
  • 8oz bag of shredded mozzarella
  • 30oz container of ricotta cheese
  • 1 package of no-boil lasagna noodles
  • 2- 24oz jars of pasta sauce

Directions:

  1. Cut all the meatballs in half.
  2. Then in a greased 9×13 pan, pour enough sauce to cover the bottom.
  3. Place your first layer of noodles.
  4. Cover lightly with sauce, then spread half of the ricotta cheese on top.
  5. Add your next layer of noodles and cover lightly with sauce.
  6. Place the meatball halves on the noodles and then top them with 1 cup of mozarella.
  7. Add your next layer of noodles and cover lightly with sauce.
  8. Spread the rest of the ricotta, cover with noodles and then top with the rest of the sauce and mozzarella.
  9. Bake covered at 400 for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Verdict: Tasty, but A Learning Experience

Okay, so this came out quite yummy, but I learned a few things after making it that will hopefully make it even better next time. First off, I needed more noodles. I was not sure how close together I should put them and if I should try to break them to make it work better (next time I WILL) so I feel like I didn’t have a good noodle to sauce ration. I also think it would’ve held together better. Other than that, I’m calling it a win.

Leave a Reply

