Taco Lasagna

I love Mexican food and I also love lasagna so this seemed like a no-brainer when I saw the pin on Pinterest. Plus it seemed alarmingly easy.

Adapted from a recipe on The Girl Who Ate Everything.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • Packet of taco seasoning
  • 8oz shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • 15oz ricotta
  • 24oz jar of salsa
  • No-boil lasagna noodles
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of taco sauce
  • 1/3 cup of water

Directions:

  1. Brown the ground beef in a skillet, drain the fat and add taco seasoning and 1/3 cup of water, mix well.
  2. In a greased 9×13 pan place your first layer of noodles (I put a little bit of the salsa in first so the noodles wouldn’t stick, but cooking spray would’ve been better.)
  3. Mix your ricotta and the egg together and spread half of it on the first layer of noodles.
  4. Sprinkle a third of the beef and a 1/3 of the salsa and top with 1/2 a cup of the shredded cheddar and the next row of noodles.
  5. Mix the refried beans and the taco sauce and use half the mixture on the next row of noodles.
  6. Top with 1/3 of the beef and 1/3 of the salsa and 1/2 cup of cheese. Then place the next row of noodles.
  7. Place the rest of the ricotta, beans, meat, salsa and cheese.
  8. Cover with aluminum foil and bake on 400 for 1 hour.

Verdict: Fail

So, I had such high hopes for this meal and I just didn’t care for it. This wasn’t a fail for everyone in the family, one of us quite liked it. For me personally, I just didn’t like the ricotta in my Mexican dish. I thought it would be great but it didn’t work for me. If I made it again, I would omit the ricotta and keep the beans. If you love ricotta this recipe might work for you and it really is pretty easy.

Leave a Reply

